Single Resolution Board publishes its 2021-2023 Multi-Annual Programme

The Single Resolution Board has today published its 2021-2023 Multi-Annual Programme, including its Work Programme 2021. The SRB sets out a roadmap with a clear focus on achieving resolvability and a robust bank resolution of the banks under its remit over the next three years, as well as further operationalistation of the Single Resolution Fund.  

In 2020 the SRB welcomed two new Member States - Bulgaria and Croatia - into the SRM. In the 2021-2023 period, the SRB will work for the first time with an enlarged SRM and will continue to provide technical feedback to other Member States that may be considering whether to join the Banking Union.

In the coming years, the European banking sector, as well as the economy at large, will continue to deal with the fallout from the Covid-19 crisis. The contingency of the pandemic has so far led to a number of extraordinary changes to the prudential framework, as well as to State aid, to facilitate bank lending and mitigate the impact of the pandemic. In this context, the urgent need to complete the Banking Union will remain a high priority on the agenda.

 “We always put emphasis on good cooperation and this is even more important in challenging times. I would like to thank the NRAs, our European and international partners and the banking industry for their continued collaboration” Elke Konig, Chair of the Single Resolution Board.

About the Single Resolution Board

The Single Resolution Board (SRB) is the central resolution authority within the Banking Union, which at present is 19 eurozone countries, Bulgaria and Croatia. Together with the national resolution authorities it forms the Single Resolution Mechanism. The SRB works closely with the European Commission, the European Central Bank, the European Banking Authority and national authorities. Its mission is to ensure an orderly resolution of failing banks, protecting the taxpayer from state bail-outs, which is promoting financial stability.

Media Contact details

Susan Carroll
+ 32 2 490 3439
+32 470 96 48 01
Seán De Búrca
+32 2 490 3710
+32 477 02 87 10
Camille De Rede
+32 2 490 3530
+32 477 028 530

Contact the Single Resolution Board

Treurenberg 22, 1049 Brussels

+32 (0) 2 490 30 00