Single Resolution Board announces change in the composition of its Board

Brussels – 22 August 2017

The Single Resolution Board (SRB) announces the decision of Ms Joanne Kellermann, Board Member and Director of Resolution Planning and Decisions, to leave the SRB.

Ms Joanne Kellermann, Board Member and Director of Resolution Planning and Decisions, who joined the SRB since its very beginning in March 2015, has notified the Chair of the SRB, Ms Elke König, and the European Commission, of her intention to leave her Board Member position once a successor has been appointed.

The SRB has achieved a lot in over 2 years since its inception. Having contributed to building up the organisation, developing the first resolution plans for the largest European banks and now that the SRB has taken its first crisis decisions, I feel proud to have been a part of that. It has been a pleasure and privilege to contribute to the setting up of one of the vital pillars of the Banking Union.” – Joanne Kellermann, SRB Board Member.

Joanne has been instrumental in setting up the SRB and driving the SRB’s agenda and mission forward. We will miss her energetic drive and expertise. Also, on behalf of the other Board Members, I wish her well for her future steps.”- Elke König, Chair of the SRB.

In accordance with Art. 56 (7) of the Single Resolution Mechanism Regulation (SRMR), Joanne Kellermann will remain in office as Board Member until a successor is appointed which is expected within the next few months.

The European Commission, in consultation with the SRB, has published a vacancy notice. 

The deadline for applications is 22 September 2017.


About the Single Resolution Board

The Single Resolution Board (SRB) is the central resolution authority within the Banking Union (BU). Together with the national resolution authorities of participating Member States it forms the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). The SRB works closely with the European Commission (EC), the European Central Bank (ECB), the European Banking Authority (EBA) and national competent authorities (NCAs). Its mission is to ensure an orderly resolution of failing banks with minimum impact on the real economy and public finances of the participating Member States and beyond.


Media Contact details:

Camille De Rede


Phone number: +32 2 490 3530

Switchboard: +32 2 490 3000

Mobile phone: +32 477 028 530



Twitter: @EU_SRB

Contact the Single Resolution Board

Treurenberg 22, 1049 Brussels

+32 (0) 2 490 30 00