Single Resolution Board extends prior permissions procedure

The Single Resolution Board’s procedure to assess applications to reduce eligible liabilities instruments under Article 78a of the Capital Requirements Regulation will remain in place until the relevant European Banking Authority’s Regulatory Technical Standards come into force. To continue performing market-making and other secondary market activities as of 1 January 2020, banks must obtain a prior permission.

To cover the period until the standards come into force, the SRB confirms and extends the conditions published on 25 June 2019 in the CRR addendum to the SRB’s MREL policy:

  • the aggregate trading volume in these activities does not exceed 1% TREA on a consolidated basis at the level of the resolution group;
  • any MREL shortfall, or increase thereof, resulting from these market-making activities is compensated with eligible liabilities instruments on a quarterly basis.


The European Banking Authority (EBA) is mandated under Article 78a (3) CRR to draft Regulatory Technical Standards (RTS) specifying the process for prior permissions, including the time limits and information requirements. Until this Level 2 Regulation comes into application, the following provisional procedure applies:

  • Scope of instruments. At this stage, the SRB considers that the permission regime applies to eligible liabilities instruments as defined in Article 72b CRR.
  • Time-limit for applications. Institutions shall transmit a complete application to the SRB at least four months in advance of the date where one of the actions listed in Article 78a CRR (hereafter: “Redemption”) is intended to be performed.

About the Single Resolution Board

The SRB is the central resolution authority within the Banking Union (BU). Together with the national resolution authorities of participating Member States it forms the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). The SRB works closely with the European Commission (EC), the European Central Bank (ECB), the European Banking Authority (EBA) and national competent authorities (NCAs). Its mission is to ensure an orderly resolution of failing banks with minimum impact on the real economy and public finances of the participating Member States and beyond.

Media Contact details:

Susan Carroll
Phone:           + 32 2 490 3439
Mobile:          + 32 470 96 48 01

Camille De Rede
Phone:           +32 2 490 3530
Mobile:          +32 477 028 530

Seán de Búrca
Phone:           +32 2 490 3710
Mobile:          +32 477 02 87 10

Contact the Single Resolution Board

Treurenberg 22, 1049 Brussels

+32 (0) 2 490 30 00